Jarchow and Schachtner win primary

Senate General election January 16

Gregg Westigard | Staff writer

10th SENATE DISTRICT – Republican Adam Jarchow and Democrat Patty Schachtner won their party nominations for the 10th Senate district in the primary election Tuesday, December 19. Jarchow won his primary by a 859 vote margin while Schachtner won with over two thirds of the votes in her contest. The two will join Libertarian Party candidate Brian Corriea on the general election ballot Tuesday, January 16.

Jarchow received 4,020 votes to defeat Shannon Zimmerman who received 3,161 votes. Zimmerman had a slim margin over Jarchow in St. Croix, Dunn and Pierce Counties which was erased by Jarchow’s 1,197 vote lead in Polk County.

The Democratic Party vote was Patty Schachtner – 3,884, John Calabrese – 1,364, and Reuben Herfindahl – 260.

The special election is to fill the vacant seat held by Sheila Harsdorf before she was appointed to head the Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection on November 10.   The 10th Senate District includes parts of Burnett, Polk, St. Croix, Pierce and Dunn Counties.      

The votes / as of election night

Republican Party

Adam Jarchow – 4,020 / 60%

Shannon Zimmerman – 3,161 / 40%

Democratic Party

Patty Schachtner – 3,884 / 70.5%

John Calabrese – 1,364 / 24.8%

Reuben Herfindahl – 260 / 4.7%

Libertarian Party

Brian Corriea – 47